Corned Beef Squared With Veggies, Some Carolina Crown And A Side Of Boston Crusaders

Corned Beef Brisket

Corned Beef Brisket

 

Happy St. Patrick’s Day Everyone! Following in the tradition of this wonderful day, yes, I am cooking a corned beef brisket with all the delicious veggies that go with it. Actually, I’m cooking two briskets, yes, you read that right correctly . . . TWO!  Here’s the reason . . . Firstly, even though I have a totally French last name, I Am Part Irish! My father was French Canadian and my mother was French Canadian, Abernaki Indian and Irish. My Great grandmothers maiden name was . . . Flaherty. You can’t get more Irish than that . .well, you probably could, but for the sake of St Patrick’s day . . I’m Irish! My mother’s maiden name was Carter and her dad was 100% Irish . . . Wow, I’m totally more Irish than I thought!

So, with that out of the way, Here is how I do Corned Beef and Cabbage . . . and carrots and potatoes and squash and onions . . . No turnip . . . I dislike turnips very much! Half my family likes Corned Beef cooked one way and the other half, a different way, hence the reason I cook two of them. Here are my two favorite ways of cooking a delicious boiled and baked Corned Beef brisket dinner.

Corned Beef #1

Ingredients

Corned Beef Brisket (whatever cut you like) I’m using a thick, flat cut.

1 or 2 large onions

cabbage, carrots, potatoes, squash (turnips and parsnips if you want them)

Beef stock or broth

water

Dutch Oven

olive oil

Large Pot

flour

white or red wine (optional)

salt, pepper, garlic powder

Directions

Set oven to 325 degrees

Season your flour with the salt, pepper and garlic powder. Add about 2 TBSP Olive oil to your dutch oven and heat on top of stove. (medium heat). Coat the Corned Beef with the flour mixture and place in dutch oven. Cook for 3 minutes on each side and remove and put on a plate. Add 1/2 to 3/4 cup white or red wine. Let wine reduce down a little bit making sure to scrape all the goodness of the bottom of the dutch oven. (stir frequently) Add your sliced onions and let them cook for about 5 or 6 minutes. Turn off the heat and place the Corned Beef back in the dutch oven. Add a combination of beef broth and water until brisket is almost covered. (I usually add a couple drops of either ketchup or gravy master, too)  cover dutch oven and place in oven and slow cook for 3-6 hours or until super tender. Periodically check to see if you need to add some more beef broth and water.

Directions for cooking veggies below. (They’re the same as cooking them for a boiled dinner)

Veggies for a boiled dinner

Veggies for a boiled dinner

Corned Beef #2

Directions

Fill a very large pot with water. Enough so it covers the Corned Beef by at least 5-6 inches.  Put your corned Beef in the water and bring to a boil. Reduce heat and slow simmer for 3-4 hours. (If you don’t like it to salty, drain the water after about a half hour of cooking and fill it back up with fresh water) bring to a boil again and then slow simmer.

Add your veggies the last 45 minutes of cooking and cook them until fork tender. If you are baking your Corned beef, I just fill a pot of water and add some beef broth and bring to a boil. Then I toss the veggies in and cook until fork tender.

Remove the Corned Beef and let it sit for a few minutes. Remember to cut it against the grain.

And now, moving on to the music portion of my show . . .

I am a die-hard Drum Corps Fan and have marched as well as followed it for most of my life. Don’t disregard this music video because you might think it’s lame, because it’s not. It’s totally cool and it rocks! Drum Corp International (DCI) is an incredible organization that gives young kids a chance to learn music, respect, discipline, courage and pride. They also award scholarships to deserving students..

Today’s video is “The Carolina Crown” A very talented, progressive, corps and “The Boston Crusaders” My Hometown favorite who have been around for over 50 years. I certainly hope you enjoy your St. Patrick’s Day Corned Beef Dinner and both the Carolina Crown and the Boston Crusaders.

 

Leave a Reply

