Rama Lama Ricotta Bread . . . Bang, Bang!

Occasionally, I have amazingly creative ideas when I’m cooking. It’s not like I’m thinking about it, it just pops into my head. This just happens to be one of those whimsical and delicious ideas. It all started when I was making a lasagna for Sunday family dinner. During the Fall and Winter, I always make it a point to have my family over for dinner on Sunday. There’s nothing better than sharing awesome food with the people you love. Spring and summer is more difficult because someone’s either going on vacation or going away for the day so whoever wants to come over for a BBQ is more than welcome too.

Anyway, back to the lasagna, well, specifically . . .the bread! This particular day, I made more of my special ricotta mixture than I needed to.I didn’t want to waste it and it really wasn’t enough to make a second lasagna. I was just about to toss it in the trash barrel when I noticed we had two loaves of bread, one Italian, the other French. Without even giving it a second thought, I knew what I had to do, it was meant to be. I grabbed the loaf of French bread and well, the rest is history. I knew my new creation was a success when all of my family members started raving about the bread, not the lasagna . . . but the bread! So now every time I make a lasagna, I have to make the ricotta bread too.

It’s actually very, very, simple and I’m sure you, your friends, your family will absolutely love it! Oh, and the music I picked to go with this recipe is totally freaking cool! Well, it’s time to loaf it up! Here we go!

French Bread

French Bread     

INGREDIENTS

One loaf of French or Italian bread cut in half lengthwise.

1 small container of Ricotta cheese.

1 small block of farmer’s cheese (or cream cheese) softened

1/2 cup chopped red pepper

1/2 cup chopped onion

1 egg

1 cup shredded cheese (your choice) I mixed cheddar and Parmesan together.

2 TBSP olive oil or 2 TBSP of butter

1 tsp coarse sea salt

1/2 tsp ground black pepper

DIRECTIONS

Ricotta Cheese

Ricotta Cheese

In a frying pan saute chopped peppers and onions in olive oil or butter until tender

In a mixing bowl combine all ingredients except bread and mix well.

Set oven to 350 degrees

Spoon mixture evenly onto each half of the French or Italian bread

Place bread halves on a cookie sheet and put in oven for 15-25 minutes depending on how crunchy you like it.

If you want to, about five minutes before you take bread out of oven add some additional shredded cheese to each half.

Slice bread in 1-2 inch slices and serve

French Bread with ricotta

French Bread with ricotta

.

Baked French Bread with Ricotta

Baked French Bread with Ricotta

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

