The Super Hero’s Of Cooking

Have you got one or two “favorite pans” or pots that you seem to use religiously? I do! One is my “cast iron pan” and the other is my “Lodge stockpot”. My cast iron pan is so incredibly versatile and the food that comes out of there is unbelievable. There is nothing better than cooking a perfectly seasoned steak on the cast iron frying pan. You start it on top of the stove searing it on high heat for two minutes on each side and then transfer it to a hot oven to cook for an additional 5-10 minutes depending on how you prefer your steak. Just before I put them in the oven, I like to add a pad of butter on top of each steak. Once the steaks have sat for about 5 minutes, they’re ready to go. And man oh man are they delicious!

I also use my cast iron for roasting red and gold potatoes. They come out perfect every time. Cut and quarter your potatoes, add some olive oil, salt, coarse black pepper, garlic powder, onion powder and some smoked paprika and toss them in the cast iron pan. Bake in a 375 degree oven for about an hour, stirring them every 15 minutes. (Hint; I actually stir fry them in the cast iron pan for about 5 minutes before I place them in the oven. Be very, very, careful the cast iron pan gets extremely HOT! Make sure you use pot holders or oven mitts when placing the pan in the oven.)

My cast iron pan is also awesome for making BBQ or seasoned chicken and pork chops.  The possibilities are endless. How about making a green bean casserole from scratch using real fried onions, mushrooms and fresh green beans? I’ll post that recipe later! That’s what makes my cast iron pan one of my hero’s. P.S. clean up is very easy, but you “must” remember to take good care of your cast iron and it will take good care of you for many, many, years.

roasted-smoked, potatoes

roasted-smoked potatoes

Cast iron pan

Cast iron pan

roasted smoked potatoes

roasted smoked potatoes

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

My other unsung hero is a red, Lodge stockpot that my daughter got me for Christmas. That pot (the cooking kind) is amazing. I have made beef stew, chicken, corn, chowduh (I’m from Boston), mashed potatoes, chicken soup and many more culinary wonders using this stock pot and I love it! It’s ceramic inside so clean up is a breeze. I told my daughter that for Father’s Day she can get me the next size up so I can make bigger and better things!

Lodge stockpot

Lodge stockpot

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

For your listening enjoyment today, I thought it best to stick with the hero theme, so turn it up, and dance like you mean it! But before you go and get all sweaty and stuff, Please feel free to visit my other sites about direct response marketing, Raising your vibrational frequencies and even about games and fun for kids during summer vacation.

www.chameleondirectmarketingandcopy.com

www.iamperfectlychangedandawesome.com

www.summeractivitiesandgamesforkids.weebly.com

www.jamesrsirois.com

 

 

Leave a Reply

