Spam, Spam, Eggs And Spam and Tasty Navy Slop Too . . .

Two things cross my mind when I say these magic words; Abracadabra . . . .“Spam”  The first thought that comes to mind is . . . . “Monty Python’s Flying Circus aka The Musical Spamalot!” and my second thought is . . . “Navy Slop!”  Now I’m sure that most of you are familiar with “Monty Python’s” legendary and hysterical skit about “SPAM” or maybe even the Broadway musical starring the amazingly talented “Tim Curry,” but have you ever heard of “Navy Slop?”

Ya, that’s what I thought! My mother used to make Navy Slop for my father, who by the way was never in the Navy, but served in the Army, so I’m really not sure how this whole “Navy Slop” thing came to be. But anyway, the star of this deliciously, different, meal is of course the historical, gelatinous covered and versatile . . . “SPAM!” So, some of you may be gagging or retching right now so I might suggest that you not read the rest of this for fear of making you any more queasy than you already are. O K, so truth be known . . . I Like Spam! Not all the time, maybe like twice a year, but when I get that hankering, It’s either a fried Spam sandwich with ketchup or . . . “Navy Slop!”  “What is Navy Slop?” you ask?   Well, I’ll tell you . . .

Spam

Spam

I must apologize first because I do not have a picture of “Navy Slop.” I actually made fried Spam this morning with scrambled eggs and cheese for my granddaughter Winnie who slept over last night. She loves ham so I told her that; the Spam was just Ham and the Ham was just Spam and now I’m beginning to sound like Dr, Seus yes I am!  No pun intended . . .well, maybe a little one! The ingredients for Navy Slop” are basic and simple and putting it together is even easier. The end result is really quite good so without further ado here it is . . . .

INGREDIENTS

1 large can Spam

1/2 yellow onion sliced (not chopped)

1 can tomato soup

1/2 stick butter

mashed potatoes

DIRECTIONS

Prepare your mashed potatoes as you like them. (They can be instant, home made, it’s your choice)

Heat a frying pan to medium high heat on top of stove and add 1/2 stick butter until melted.

Add onions to pan and cook until just sweating.

Next, add your sliced Spam to the pan making sure to turn them over frequently until browned. Don’t forget to stir the onions too.

When sliced Spam is browned, add the can of tomato soup and simmer for about 2-3 minutes. remove from heat.

Place a heaping portion of mashed potatoes on your plate and then spoon the onion, Spam, soup mixture directly on top of the potatoes.

You have just made . . . “NAVY SLOP!”  try it with cornbread or honey biscuits . . . yum!

“NOW FOR YOUR LISTENING PLEASURE, YOU SERIOUSLY CAN”T SKIP ANY OF THESE, THEY ARE SO APPROPRIATE AND HYSTERICAL” . . . . . . .

Leave a comment